Home > Uncategorized > Update on Blogger Beta compatibility

Update on Blogger Beta compatibility

We’ve had a few questions about Hipcast’s incompatibility with Blogger’s beta system, and posts not appearing in a new blogspot blog.

Currently, our audio/video-to-blog system does NOT work Blogger’s new beta service (this doesn’t affect audio/video-to-podcast feeds, which do not rely on blog systems).

We are working on supporting the new Blogger, even though it’s still an invitation-based beta release.

Blogger’s new version of their service (which is still in beta, technically) requires that we connect to Google’s Account login system instead of Blogger, which means that we must recreate or overhaul our code just for them (Google).

Note: Blogger’s new beta system does not seem to be available to all users who use the old Blogger system. Contact Google for assistance with your Blogspot account.

We’ll post an update when Hipcast is updated to work with the new Blogger.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 10, 2006 at 8:14 pm

    I am putting Hipcast video in a Blogger Beta post, but not directly. I put it in a typepad post and then copy the and put it into Blogger Beta. See this test page:

    http://talocourse.blogspot.com/

    Actually the text warps around the Hipcast video, something TypePad can’t do.

  2. November 10, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    Good show, Tom. That is a way around it, although being able to auto-post is the key functionality that’s missing at the moment.

    And liking the wrap also.

  3. Charles
    November 24, 2006 at 10:11 am

    OK – just now seeing this post. Really messed up – will try the TypePad go around. When we try to post, we can’t because we get the following error message:

    “Oops!Unable to post to blog service: com.google.blogger.api.UserMigratedException: The given Blogger account has been migrated to a Google Account on the Blogger beta”

    Can you please fix this as soon as possible? How soon will this happen, to syncronize the services?

    Thank you.

  4. November 28, 2006 at 2:57 am

    you had said you would have this fixed last week…yet still nothing…do you have any idea if you’ll get it working or not?

  5. Sandra
    November 28, 2006 at 12:07 pm

    no kidding! I recieved an email early last week (after I sent a 3rd e-mail to hipcast begging, and I mean begging, for any kind of responce) stating that this was just days away from being fixed. I have not posted the most recent episode of my podcast yet. I have been waiting for this to be fixed so my listeners who need to download the MP3 from my site would get the correct data.

    Some sort of update on what is happening would deffinately be appreciciated.

  6. November 29, 2006 at 10:27 am

    Hipcast.com servers seem to be down. Can’t do audio posting by phone and can’t get access to Hipcast.com. Neither can I access existing audio on our blog. What’s the issue and when will it be fixed? Thanks.

  7. Sandra
    December 6, 2006 at 8:13 am

    okay so it’s been over a month and no word . . . what is going on?!?!?! ANY new information/update on where you guys are at in fixing this problwm would be appreciated.

  8. December 6, 2006 at 9:09 am

    I second that…you could at least tell us what’s going on…

  9. December 7, 2006 at 5:51 am

    Please fix this, I am missing my mp3 player on the blogger page, I may change either this service or my blog very soon becuase of it.

  10. Tim
    December 11, 2006 at 6:21 am

    I’m having the same trouble everyone else is. There’s no reason to use hipcast anymore if I can’t publish it to my blog. It’s worthless. Might as well close my account if you’re not going to fix it. Thanks.

  11. mike
    December 11, 2006 at 12:38 pm

    I wish there was some kind of a warning put out by hipcast to its customers that going beta would pretty much kill your publishing. Especially with blogger pushing it. It looks like blogger is going to remove the “beta” from the version and require all users to go with the upgrade. Hipcast, you need to catch up. I’m stuck until something changes. Also- put something on the login page warning others about not going to beta until things are resolved. For me, its to late.

  12. michael
    December 11, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    an update would definitely be nice. for all of you having to wait for posting your mp3s until they get this resolved, i have opened a free livejournal account, publish them to that, then copy and past the html into your blog. your readers won’t get the option to download the link, but at least you’ll have a player so they can preview it.

  13. Sandra
    December 12, 2006 at 7:35 am

    Michael, thanks for that

    That’s a great idea. I copied the code for one of my first posts then switched my blog publishing from blogger to the non-xml/ manual post then cut and pasted the audio part of the new code into the old code type then copied this into the body of my new post. This means that my blog posts are consistant. However anyone who needs to download the MP3 to listen gets the old post not the new one. I’ve made a podcast pickle page and directed my listeners who need to download there to listen.

    I REALLY wish they would let us know what’s going on. I’ve looked around for a new publisher but haven’t found one that looks like it would work. If anyone has please let me know.

    thanks!

    oh and thanks to Hipcast for not responding AT ALL . . . . . .

  14. December 14, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    I’m anxious now….and thank god I read all of these postings before going to the blogger beta. It is disappointing that there is no answer of any sort outlining options, setting timelines or giving assistance. Heck, even if you asked your users for help, you’d have a better answer.

    Transcoders are nice, but customer service rules the world.

    Kevin G. McClure
    Host, The Tennis Podcast
    http://www.TheTennisPodcast.com

  15. Samson
    December 14, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    Hey can any one help me how to do this typepad thing it is well appreciated

  16. December 18, 2006 at 6:53 am

    [Oops!Unable to post to blog service: com.google.blogger.api.UserMigratedException: The given Blogger account has been migrated to a Google Account on the Blogger beta]

    I can’t publish to my blog!!! I guess it’s because I updated to the Blogger beta.

    Does anyone know how or when this is going to fixed?

  17. DF
    January 2, 2007 at 10:25 am

    I’ve attempted to contact hipcast no less than three times throught their “support” function. Have not heard a word. I’m disappointed about this and I wish I would have read all the comment above before switching over to Blogger II.

  18. January 3, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Folks – is this insane or what??? I, like you, switched over to the NEW blogger, which is now OUT OF BETA, and am now unable to publish!! This is insane… NO WARNING whatsoever, anywhere… and it looks like I can’t “migrate” back to the old blogspot. I am SCREWED.

    IS ANYBODY LISTENING OVER THERE???????

  19. January 5, 2007 at 1:29 am

    Seems that nothing is be done. Would be good to really know when or if at all efforts will be made to solve the problem – but I am also considering to move … either from blogger or from hipcast.

  20. Pissed Off!
    January 5, 2007 at 6:26 am

    wow, it’s shocking to see that nobody at Hipcast gives two shits about their customers. Without us, they don’t have Hipcast. Anyway, Eric sure has time to brag about how great Hipcast is and do a myriad of other things, but in reality, couldn’t give a damn what we are suffering through and obviously, refuses to even communicate with us, to let us know what’s happening. Wake up dumbasses over at Hipcast and show us that you actually care, that is if you do,

  21. DF
    January 5, 2007 at 10:18 am

    I got this email back from HipCast the other day. I suggested they put this exact posting up for everyone. At least it gave me some hope and they responded after 3 attempts of asking for help.

    “We anticipate beginning the rollout this week if everything goes
    smoothly with the update, and will be posting more information to the
    Hipcast blog at https://hipcast.wordpress.com.”

    This came to me on Tuesday, Jan 2.

  22. January 5, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    sorry to burst your bubble DF but I received this on November 20th

    “We are a few days away from turning on Blogger beta support. More
    info will be posted at https://hipcast.wordpress.com

    Hipcast.com Support ”

    and while I am usually a patient person I will not allow myself to be strung along (and this is probably why they HAVEN’T made a general post)

    I am keeping the account here for about another 2 weeks until the contract I have runs itself out and I’ve given my listeners enough time to switch to the new feed

  23. January 7, 2007 at 10:14 am

    What’s the latest? I’m about to do a new podcast and it’s really frustrating about the lack of support and lack of response from hipcast.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

