Home > Tips, Hints, and How-tos > Hipcast Workbench: Your First Video Podcast

Hipcast Workbench: Your First Video Podcast

Just as simple as making an audio podcast.

Make sure you have a webcam. Then choose record. Save it, and then choose a podcast to send it to.

It is really, really easy. You don’t have to be a technical at all, and you don’t need talent either. 😉


I recorded this video directly to Hipcast. No saving to disk or editing requred! Easy!

  1. bre
    August 2, 2006 at 10:37 am

    Record and stop, got it!

  2. August 11, 2006 at 10:17 am

    I use MacOSX, Tiger with ISight camera/microphone. Will it work OK with Hipcast to put videoblogs on my TypePad blog?
    http://viewfromarizona.typepad.com/citrus/.

    Is there instruction material for this?

    citrus1@cox.net

  3. August 11, 2006 at 10:30 am

    Yes, Mac OS X and an iSight camera works great. That’s my setup too…

    TypePad works with Hipcast.

    The screens are pretty straightforward on how to use Hipcast. If you get stuck you can email support.

  4. Jan
    September 24, 2006 at 10:41 am

    This loks great – I’d love to be able to make videos for my blog using images of my sceen also – say with Macromedia Captivate. So there’d be a bit of me talking then a clip from Captivate. How does Hipcast feel about that! 🙂

  5. September 24, 2006 at 2:57 pm

    You can upload any kind of movie…

  6. Jan
    September 25, 2006 at 4:32 am

    Gret news! However, I uploaded it in swf and cp and they are not acceptable formats Got this message: Transcode Error: Unrecognized audio or video format.
    Is there a list of acceptable formats? I notice you were able to move from a shot of you talking to an image of a webpage – that’s bascially what I want to be able to do. Great product tho!
    Jan

  7. Jan
    September 30, 2006 at 5:45 am

    Hi Steve – I’m getting the hang of this now – and will go ahead after my free trial – but I’m still curious about how you were able to do that clever trick I menioned in my posting above.
    Many thanks
    Jan

  8. September 30, 2006 at 6:36 am

    Oh yeah. What you do is edit those still frames into a movie, then upload that moview to Hipcast.

  9. Jan
    October 1, 2006 at 11:53 pm

    thank you. Excellent! 🙂

  10. October 17, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    hey steve-
    does hipcast allow you to control the size of the flash player? i noticed there are two different size players above…also can you dial in the compression? to choose between high or low compresison/file sizes?

  11. October 17, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    Yes. You can choose the size of the player, but you can not choose the level of compression.

  12. October 17, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    can you point me to an example of a 320 x 480 hipcast player? i’d like to see how it looks.

  13. Casey Truffo
    November 6, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    I just recorded my first video with a DV camera. When I play it back, the audio is not synced with the video. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Casey

  14. November 6, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    Where are you playing it?

    What camera?

    What computer?

  15. Casey Truffo
    November 6, 2006 at 4:48 pm

    Here it is:

    http://buildyourtherapypractice.com/casey/

    I recorded it on a Canon Elura 100 DV camcorder via hipcast directly (not uploading) on a Mac PowerBook g4.

  16. November 6, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    I suggest recording it using QuickTime Pro or iMovie to your computer first.

    That’s going to give you a better quality. Then you can upload.

  17. Casey Truffo
    November 6, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks! I will do that!

  18. Casey Truffo
    November 6, 2006 at 5:54 pm

    One more question – on my new MacBook – I have the built in Isight. Would still recommend doing it in iMovie or going with iSight?

    Thanks,
    Casey

  19. November 6, 2006 at 6:25 pm

    You can use either the Canon Camera or the iSight.

    I use both the iSight and my Canon GL/2..

    Have fun!

  20. Dr Adam Fraser
    December 30, 2006 at 10:54 pm

    I have created a quickTime movie on my computer which plays fine, however when I go to upload it to Hipcast it says there was an error with syncing the audio to the video.

    Any suggestions?

  1. August 1, 2006 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

