Home > Tips, Hints, and How-tos > Hipcast Workbench: Your First Audio Podcast

Hipcast Workbench: Your First Audio Podcast

It’s real easy to record audio with Hipcast. You don’t even have to use a computer program to do it. You record directly after logging in. It is SO easy.

This video shows you how to record audio directly up to Hipcast and post to your podcast.

Here are the steps:

1. Go to the Record Audio page.

Record Audio

2. Click Record.

Record Audio

3. Save it with a Title and Description.

Record Audio

4. Select a podcast you want to post to, and post by pressing Publish to Blog.

Record Audio

It’s so easy it’s not funny.

  1. Amanda
    August 4, 2006 at 7:10 am

    I am confused, I am new to this Podcast thing, and I would love to do it, but apart from using my computer as a glorified typwriter my technical skills are rather limited. I have been looking at lots of How to Pod Cast Stuff, but am a little confused as to RSS and Feeds and web sites and all the things I need.

    I am interested in this hipcast, and think it may make things simple. Can anyone help. I have Cool Edit Pro and I have a mini disc. I have recorded my voice, and edited and saved it as an MP3, as I want to do audio Podcast, like a daily diary Blog. That is as far as I have got now I am completely confused. If I join Hipcast and pay my $9.95 a month do I also need a web site, or can I just upload my audio, as an MP3 and send a little line of dialogue about what my Podcast is about, and then do I have to select places I want it to be advertised eg, Podcast Alley, or other places I have seen on the internet?

    If you can help I would love to hear from you, I certainly need some guidance, and nobody around where I live seems to be doing Podcasting, well I can’t find them.

    Best Wishes,
    Amanda xx

  2. August 4, 2006 at 7:26 am

    Hi Amanda,
    Yes. All you need to do is join Hipcast and upload your audio file. The you add that file to an RSS feed that you can create on Hipcast.

    After that you can let directories know about your new RSS feed.

    Eric explains more here:
    https://hipcast.wordpress.com/2006/06/05/starting-a-podcast-from-scratch/

    If you want, you can set up a blog at http://blogger.com, for example, and have Hipcast post your mp3 to a blog. Also easy.
    –Steve

  3. Nick
    August 20, 2006 at 3:23 pm

    I wam trying to create a simple audio broadcast. I recorded two brief “tapes” and have been waitng 15+ minutes for one of them to be coded. What’s taking so long?

  4. August 30, 2006 at 7:55 am

    I just created an account and do not see a “Publish Audio” option like you display in image number four.

    The Audio tab just shows “My Audios” and under “Select An Action” none of my blogs show up. (The blogs do show up in the My Blogs list as do my categorys.)

    Steve

  5. August 30, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    Hi Steven
    I sent your question to support [at] hipcast [dot] com
    –Steve

  6. Ray
    September 1, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    OMG this is soooooo confusing. Its asking for Blog service provider. Then gives u a list of names too choose from. Too bad non of the names they offer is one the provides me with my blog service.
    I just dont get it. Its way too complicated! All I’d like hipcast to do is allow us to see the URL of the files that we’ve uploaded. Then all we’d have to do is surround that URL with a certain HTML code and we can play it almost anywhere. I cant understand why u are forcing these extra hard steps!
    I tried providing my blog info, and what do I get?
    I get: Oops!System Error: Unable to connect to blog service (code: C — Invalid login ).

    what the ??????
    Its definitely not easy.

  7. Karl
    September 4, 2006 at 5:11 am

    Hi

    This looks cool – just one question, can I set this up so that once I record a podcast from my mobile phone it automatically sends it to my WordPress blog, creating a new blog post with the podcast in it? I can’t be at the computer to tell the blog to go get the podcast or to tell Hipcast to publish the recording (otherwise I would not need to use my cell phone). I am trying to do real-time event coverage so getting the blog updated immediately is key.

    Thanks!

  8. September 4, 2006 at 5:18 am

    Hi Karl,
    Yes. You can set it up to post directly from a cell phone.

    I’ve demonstrated this live if you want to see a video:

    http://offonatangent.blogspot.com/2006/07/video-is-medium-still-message.html

    –Steve

  9. September 4, 2006 at 5:31 am

    Ray,

    First of all, did you try ‘other’ for your blog service? Hipcsast supports XML-RPC and what you need to enter is your XML-RPC URL and Hipcast will be able to post to your blog if it supports XML-RPC.

    Although Hipcast does not provide the HTML code to allow posting. You could create a blogger blog for Hipcast to post to and then copy the post code to your live blog if it does not support XML-RPC.

    As for setting up your specific blog, try emailing support@hipcast.com to talk about your specific configuration if you can’t figure out what to enter.

    –Steve

  10. Karl
    September 6, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    Sweet. Thanks for the reply.

    So far this is working great, but I am having one problem.

    After I post an audiblog, I want to be able to go to WordPress & edit the tect around the audio player (lke the title, etc.)

    But when I open the post in teh WP admin page, and save it again, my blog fails to display properly. All the posts below the most recent one with the audioblog are gone.

    like this:

    http://www.ride424.com/races

    Any idea?

    Thanks!

  11. September 7, 2006 at 2:32 am

    Hi Karl,
    You deleted some HTML code by mistake

    Make sure you leave intact all the Hipcast code

    After the iframe tage you need to close it with /iframe

    That’ll fix it.
    –Steve

  12. Debbie
    September 21, 2006 at 12:45 pm

    Oh help.

    I thought I was doing this right, and following all of the steps you’ve all laid out, but it still doesn’t seem to be working. I dowloaded Audacity, created the file, turned it into an mp3, and posted it as a podcast here. Then it seemed like it would be even better to have the podcast also attached to a blog, so I have gone to blogger and created a blog, and I just tried to publish the podcast to the blog by copying in the html code, and I thought it was all good, because the little orange xml logo appeared on the blog, but if I click on it, the only thing that happens is a window full of the code for the RSS feed. I freely admit to being challenged in this aspect, but what have I done wrong?

    Debbie

  13. September 21, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Hi Debbie,
    What is the addres of your blog?

    Also, did you set up your blogger blog in Hipcast?

    Once you do that, all you need to do is post to that blog from inside Hipcast.

    No copying of HTML is needed.
    –Steve

  14. Debbie
    September 21, 2006 at 7:02 pm

    Hi Steve,

    Thank you for the quick response, but I’m still not sure what I did. The blog address is rauppmuseum.blogspot.com, and I did set up the blogger blog in hipcast, and I did hit publish to blog and publish to rss feed in the audio section…so I thought everything should be okay (barring lack of content in the blog, because I am so new to this), but I still think I’m doing something wrong here, or at least that there is some other step.

    Sorry to push the envelope on idiot-proof here, but I truly am trying.
    Thanks ,
    Debbie

  15. September 22, 2006 at 3:56 am

    OK. I see what you did.

    It works for me.

    These things work:

    1. You posted the audio to your blog and I can hear it. That’s great.

    2. You posted the audio to the RSS feed on hipcast, and that works too. Cool. You click on the XML button and only see code. That’s confusing. But it is ok, You need to susbscribe to that URL with an aggregator like iTunes or something.

    http://raupp.hipcast.com/rss/raupp_museum_potawatomi_exhibit.xml is the address that people will put in their aggregator.

    Not to confuse the issue, but, You only have to do one step to get your audio into an RSS feed.

    Here’s what you do. Take the Above Hipcast RSS URL and go over to Feedburner and paste it in there. Then take the Feedburner RSS URL and use that as your feed address. That way when you publish the adio to your blog, it’ll be in the feed automatically instead of having to publish twice on Hipcast.

    http://feeburner.com

    3. You have an XML button that people can use to subscribe. That is correct also. The only change I’s make is to put it in the sidebar of your blog instead of in a post. You need to go into blogger and edit the template and then paste the HTML in there.

    If you use the Feedburner method, Feedburner generates some nice HTML code for ou to put in your sidebar.

    http://freevlog.com has some good video tutorials on how to use Feedburner and put the HTML on your sidebar.

    Hope this helps. You are doing great!

  16. Debbie
    September 26, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    Hi Steve,
    Yowzer! It all makes sense! Thank you for not laughing at the silly question from before, and now I have a smarter one. If I entered the original feed (not the feedburner one) in iTunes, and it was accepted, do I need to go back and change that, or can I just leave it as it is, and use the feedburner chicklet on my blog, and everyone will get what they want. (Okay, it’s not a big market for podcasts from small history museums, but I am about to try to convert other museum people to do this, so I want to get it right.)

    Thanks again for the help,
    Debbie

  17. November 9, 2006 at 8:48 am

    my audio files will NOT post to my blogger site!!! AAAUURRRGHHHH! I swear I’ve done everything right…but NOTHING. I call the phone number, record the post, push 3 to publish….and NOTHING! I’ve set up my blogger site and password there…what else can be wrong???

    HELP! Regional volleyball playoffs Friday night and we need to broadcast! It worked before with audioblogger…but not with hipcast!

  18. November 9, 2006 at 8:59 am

    Hi Terri,
    If it worked before and is not working now, and you didn’t change anything, the only thing I can think of is that it’s a porblem on Blogger’s side. Sometimes I have to publish 2 or 3 times when trying to post a flickr photo to blogger. They have some issues with posting.

    If you log on to hipcast, is your recorded file there? It should be, if so, try to publish it again from the web interface.

    I’ve forwarded this on to support@hipcast.com for you too.

    All support requests should go there…
    Thanks,
    –Steve

  19. December 13, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    Add New Weblog
    Service Name
    Oops!System Error: Unable to connect to blog service (code: C — com.google.blogger.api.UserNotAuthorizedException: We’re sorry but the Username/Password combination you’ve entered is either invalid or you don’t have permission to access this Blog. ).

    What is this I have taken 1 years subscription with hip cast thinking of cancelling it I am on trail period support never replies they nned only money. Hipcast really really bad????

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

